Comparing Feature Classes in two different geodatabases

06-22-2011 05:38 AM
philiptivel
New Contributor II
This forum has been a great help to me in creating a couple python tools I really needed to get working. So thanks a ton to the people who have helped me with these. I 'm hoping I can get help with one last tool.

I have a master database with a master set of feature classes in it and a new database with most of the same feature classes and a couple new ones. Is there python code I can use to print out a list of just the feature classes names in the new database that don't match any of the feature class names in the master database? Thanks,

Phil
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
I did something similar, looks like this. Counting features in a feature class and making sure they have the same number of features as another feature class. You could just modify it so it just tests whether it is there is or isn't a feature class of that name.

Would be a simple like like

if fc2 not in fcList:
  print fc2+" not found"

import arcpy

sde1 = r"D:\sde_transit\sde1.gdb"
output = r"C:\Users\coylema\AppData\Roaming\ESRI\Desktop10.0\ArcCatalog\Connection to winms-wooddb.sde"
#output = r"D:\sde_transit\sdeCSRS.gdb"

arcpy.env.workspace = r"D:\sde_transit\sde1.gdb"

sdeList = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()
for fc in sdeList:

result = arcpy.GetCount_management(fc)
    count1 = result.getOutput(0)

fc2 = output+"\\TFM_BKG."+fc
    if arcpy.Exists(fc2):
        result = arcpy.GetCount_management(fc2)
        count2 = result.getOutput(0)
        if count1 == count2:
            print fc+" OK"
        else:
            print "Problem with "+fc
            print count1
            print count2
    else:
        print fc2+" not found"
        pass

# Clean up
sdeList = None
del arcpy.env.workspace
del arcpy
0 Kudos
philiptivel
New Contributor II