How can I successfully use GetParameterAsText in ArcPy?

06-09-2011 10:49 AM
BobbySaleh
New Contributor
I cannot get this code to work. Admittedly, I am new to programming with ArcPy.

I am trying to use the GetParameterAsText to ask the user to give input (to let them choose which featureclass they want to use) from the script. I keep getting the message : "Runtime error <class 'arcgisscripting.ExecuteError'>: ERROR 000735: Input Features: Value is required"

I built this using Model Builder and then exported the model to python to look at the code to start customizing what I want it to do. I cannot get the box to come up asking the user to choose which featureclass to run the script/model on.

[INDENT]CODE:
import arcpy

print "Start time = " + time.asctime()

# Script arguments
Expression = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0)
if Expression == '#' or not Expression:
Expression = "\"Segment_ID\" In ('C1', 'C2', 'C3', 'C4', 'C5')" # provide a default value if unspecified
Input_Features = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1)

# Local variables:
Test = Expression
Test_UnsplitLine = Test
ROUTE_FINAL = Test_UnsplitLine
ROUTE_FINAL__2_ = ROUTE_FINAL
Route_Real_OUTPUT_gdb = "G:\\40\\Scratch\\Real_OUTPUT.gdb"

# Process: Feature Class to Feature Class
tempEnvironment0 = arcpy.env.scratchWorkspace
arcpy.env.scratchWorkspace = "G:\\40\\Scratch\\Route_Scratch_Work.gdb"
empEnvironment1 = arcpy.env.outputCoordinateSystem
arcpy.env.outputCoordinateSystem = "PROJCS['NS_Equidistant_Conic',GEOGCS['GCS_North_American_1983',DATUM['D_North_American_1983',SPHEROID['GRS_1980',6378137.0,298.257222101]],PRIMEM['Greenwich',0.0],UNIT['Degree',0.0174532925199433]],PROJECTION['Equidistant_Conic'],PARAMETER['False_Easting',0.0],PARAMETER['False_Northing',0.0],PARAMETER['Central_Meridian',-154.0],PARAMETER['Standard_Parallel_1',68.0],PARAMETER['Standard_Parallel_2',74.0],PARAMETER['Latitude_Of_Origin',40.0],UNIT['Foot_US',0.3048006096012192]]"
tempEnvironment2 = arcpy.env.geographicTransformations