Need Python Example: sort rows, subtract current from next, load in new field

04-21-2011 06:18 AM
NatalieLepsky
New Contributor
Please help! I am new to Python.

I created a model in ModelBuilder. The last steps are to grab the attribute table of the feature class, sort MEAS column in ascending order and then subtract next value from current and load those values in the new field. (I have an empty field in the attribute table).

I wrote a simple script, but all I could do is to sort the MEAS column and print values out.
Could anybody be so kind and get me an example code?....
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
18 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
You should use an UpdateCursor (there's an example). In the UpdateCursor statement, you specify which fields to sort. Then you loop through all your rows, each time sticking the current value into a variable to save it for the next row where you update the empty column with that value.
0 Kudos
NatalieLepsky
New Contributor
Thanks for your reply! I created a new dataset with sorted rows using a simple script. But still have problems with UpdateCursor. I try to retain the current value, but nothing works. Do you have a similar looping example?
0 Kudos
TerrySilveus
Occasional Contributor III
put the value into a variable for later use.  i.e. air code below

firstTime = True
for row in rows:
   if firstTime:
      myMeas = row.getValue('MEAS') #in your first iteration you will not have anything to update you just need to get the value for the next iteration
      firstTime = False
   else:
      row.setValue('MEASCalc', row.getValue('MEAS') - myMeas
      rows.updateRow(row)
      myMeas = row.getValue('MEAS')  #get the value for the next iteration 

NOTE: I fairly unfamiliar with python so you may have to tweak the syntax to make this work
0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
rows = UpdateCursor(...)

count = 0

for row in rows: