Creating Sub-Blocks

09-26-2019 04:33 AM
RayTech
New Contributor

Hi, I'm a newbie in this thing.

I'm trying to create some sub-blocks within a block. The idea is to divide the block to sub-blocks which follow natural features like river/stream, block's boundary, topography etc. And, the neighbouring sub-blocks should share the boundary. I don't how to make it right, snapping is not the right choice for me when tracing the stream and border especially on location with lot of curve.  Could someone suggest the best way to make it done? thanks in advance. I posted some photos just to share what I try to do. Thanks again.The Basemap with layers of block, stream & contourI try to this for the whole block

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JonLunsford1
New Contributor II

The simple way would be to use the trace tool when digitizing your polygon features.  This tool will trace around the boundaries of existing features in your map.

The more advanced way is to use topologies, which utilize a set of rules for feature classes within a feature dataset (e.g., features can’t overlap, can’t have gaps, etc).  I’d start with the simple approach first.

0 Kudos
RayTech
New Contributor

Tq for your response. Since I try to make a smaller polygon within that bigger block polygon, I’m using trace tool to follow the outer boundary, but at some point, I need to cut through and follow the stream and/or the ridges. Seems that trace tool didn’t work together with freehand tool, or am I missing something here? Thank you.

0 Kudos
JonLunsford1
New Contributor II