Need Help With Arcade Sum() Expression

01-16-2019 11:05 AM
deleted-user-1_r2dgYuILKY
Occasional Contributor III

I'm new to Arcade. I'm trying to summarize square footage for rooms of a certain classification (containing the prefix 'CR_') in a Map Series using dynamic text. The expression builder says my Arcade expression is valid, but nothing is being printed to the dynamic text box. 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
WendyHarrison
Esri Contributor

Hi Levi,

you'll need to rework the return line.  The sum should be an element in the array, not the second parameter in concatenate.

Concatenate( [ "Total: ", Sum(sqft) ] )

or cast the sum to text

Concatenate( [ "Total: ", Text(Sum(sqft)) ] )

----------------

does your UsableArea field contain a list of values that you're summing?  or are you trying to do something else?

0 Kudos

No, I'm trying to create a single sum for all features that contain the text prefix 'CR_'. I've been reading that Arcade can't be used on multiple records??? What is the point? I could accomplish this in seconds in Python, but I can only use Arcade expressions for Dynamic text in a Map Series. 

0 Kudos
WendyHarrison
Esri Contributor

To do that you need access to FeatureSet to loop through features.  The dynamic text expressions are part of the Visualization profile and don't have access to this functionality.  There is another way to do what you're looking for through dynamic text.  I've spoken with a colleague and she'll be here shortly to take you through it.

thanks

Wendy

0 Kudos

Cool, thanks!

0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

I think  would first you the Filter function to get the list of records that start with CR_ and then apply the sum to that list.

0 Kudos
AubriKinghorn
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Levi,