create point shapefile of street intersections from polyline - ArcEditor

02-09-2011 02:22 PM
MichaelCatsos
New Contributor
I'm trying to create a point shapefile of street intersections in downtown Phoenix, somehow deriving the points from a lone street centerline layer. I have tried extracting polyline nodes to points, but nodes do not exist at all of the necessary intersections. Intersect-related solutions don't seem to be any help since I am only working with one layer.

I'm not experienced enough to understand most scripting. Is there any procedure to split polyline features into segments between each intersection? After that I could extract the nodes, then turn them into points.

Another option I have explored is creating a small buffer around the polyline features. Theoretically, the points where the buffers around each segment overlap represent the intersections. This method is more inclusive, including all the potential intersections, but I can not figure out how to "overlay" the buffer with itself. Is there some way to use overlay to extract the small polygons where the individual buffered segments overlap, even though they are all in the same layer?
Tags (2)
36 Replies
JohnSobetzer
Frequent Contributor
I've used Hawth's Analysis Tools (free) to produce points at line intersections in the same layer, but I think it creates duplicates at each location which I removed by running a clean.  That was many years ago.  ETGeowizards has a Renode Wizard that from the help says it would analyze a line layer and it could create points representing the regular nodes where two lines intersect but it isn't one of the free tools.
0 Kudos
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III
Hi,

Could creating a geometric network solve the problem? (ArcCatalog > Geodatabase > Feature dataset > Geometric network). Junctions will be created automatically at the intersections of the streets.
0 Kudos
BRaffel
New Contributor III