Looking to customize the edit widget form for a specific feature layer

04-13-2017 10:54 AM
ScottLehto2
New Contributor II

Hi, Well have I got a newbie question. I am new to WebApp Builder and JavaScript but I do have some experience in ArcGIS and C#.   
What I was looking to do is develop/customize an edit widget to be used exclusively for a specific feature layer.
Most importantly, I would like to substitute a lot of the text boxes in my edit form/widget for the combo boxes/filteringselect boxes. It sounds easy enough, but I am struggling to find info.
If anyone has completed this and could offer me some pointers, I would be very thankful.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
DavidWendelken
Occasional Contributor

Edited to correct the class name, thought it might be Popup before.

I believe the esri AttributeInspector class is used to edit data for a record. 

Not sure how to change it yet as calling it appears to be built inside the feature layer class, not a web application builder widget.

I do know that the constructor function in AttributeInspector receives two parameters.  The first has a layerInfos field in it, which is an array of editable layers.  Each layerInfo in that array has a fieldInfos array which contains instructions to the AttributeInspector about the fields it is to edit.  For example, seting the isEditable field to false will make the field read only and gray it out.

FYI: If you need to set defaults BEFORE the record is actually put in the database (and afterwards the popup edit window), check out how to set custom default values on new object in Edit widget 

That's the best I can tell you at the moment, I'm still figuring it out.  Hope this jump starts you a bit.

DavidWendelken
Occasional Contributor

I've done a good deal more work on the Edit widget since my last reply.