ArcPy

Jump to solution
06-24-2015 06:45 AM
RusselKlueg
New Contributor III

Hey all,

I've got an arcpy question for you. I'm still new to python as well but I think i have a decent handle on it. But i'm not sure why this script isn't working. It's pretty basic but I keep getting an error. Can someone point out the issue for me? I'd really appreciate it.

import arcpy

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(r'C:\Users\JOC-001\Documents\GIS\HSIP\Infrastructure\HSIP_Gold_2015_Infrastructure2.mxd')

layers = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd)

for lyr in layers:

arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management(lyr, "WITHIN_A_DISTANCE", r"C:\Users\JOC-001\Documents\ArcGIS\Default.gdb\Illinois", "50 Miles", "NEW_SELECTION")

arcpy.FeatureClassToFeatureClass_conversion(lyr, r'C:\Users\JOC-001\Documents\GIS\HSIP\IL_Infrastructure2015', lyr+'.shp')

And the error i'm receiving

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "C:\Users\JOC-001\Desktop\ArcGIS.py", line 7, in <module>

arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management(lyr, "WITHIN_A_DISTANCE", r"C:\Users\JOC-001\Documents\ArcGIS\Default.gdb\Illinois", "50 Miles", "NEW_SELECTION")

File "C:\Program Files (x86)\ArcGIS\Desktop10.2\arcpy\arcpy\management.py", line 6812, in SelectLayerByLocation

raise e

ExecuteError: Failed to execute. Parameters are not valid.

ERROR 000840: The value is not a Feature Layer.

ERROR 000840: The value is not a Raster Catalog Layer.

ERROR 000840: The value is not a Mosaic Layer.

Failed to execute (SelectLayerByLocation).

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WesMiller
Regular Contributor III
if lyr.isGroupLayer:
     pass
else:
     print lyr.name

View solution in original post

17 Replies
    DanPatterson_Retired
    MVP Emeritus