Set default value for a field in ArcMap using python

05-06-2015 09:30 AM
StacyMcNeil
New Contributor II

I have been trying to figure out how I can set a default value to a field in ArcMap.  I see there is a tool called Assign Default to field but that is applied to the entire dataset.  I would like the default to apply to the current ArcMap session only.  In the Create Features window you can right click a layer and set a default there to get the behavior I would like but am trying to accomplish this for multiple layers in the TOC using python.

This is what I have been trying, starting with one layer first, but get an error "The attribute 'defaultValue' is not supported on this instance of Field"  I can print the defaultValue however.

feature_class = "Roads"

fields = arcpy.ListFields(feature_class)

for field in fields:

if field.name == "Project_Name":

field.defaultValue = "Test_Project"

Forgive me if I am making an obvious mistake.  I am still a beginner.  Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
18 Replies
SepheFox
Frequent Contributor

Hi Stacy, it looks like you're on the right track. Try using Assign Default Values, instead of field.defaultValue: Assign Default Values.

0 Kudos
ChristianWells
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Stacy,

Try out the Assign Default To Field (Data Management) tool.

feature_class = "Roads"
fields = arcpy.ListFields(feature_class)

for field in fields:
          arcpy.AssignDefaultToField_management(feature_class, "Project_Name", "Test_Project")
0 Kudos
StacyMcNeil
New Contributor II

Thanks Christian and Sephe.  I have tried th Assign Default to Field tool and the default value then gets applied to the entire feature class so anyone editing will have the same default value.  I need the default to change from map to map.  Any ideas on that?

0 Kudos
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor