Referencing Shapefiles in Python and Printing Shapefile Entries

Jump to solution
04-08-2015 01:35 PM
RachaelJohnson
Occasional Contributor

I am a complete Python novice and I have been searching and searching and so far, I am unable to find a straightforward answer to my question. 

I want to write a statement that checks if a shapefile has a field "Area", and if not, make one. This is what I have:

outline="LRoutline"

if "Area" not in outline:

arcpy.AddField_management(outline, "Area", "FLOAT", 6, 3)

The If statement isn't working.  When I run it again, the code gets hung up because there is already a field named "Area".  Obviously, the code is not looking if there is a field named "Area" but rather it is looking for that string in the variable.  How do I reference the fields inside a shapefile within an If statement? outline.Area doesn't work and neither does !Area!.  I have tried the SearchCursor thing using the following code and it outputs <Cursor object at 0x137ed0f0[0x13587f80]>, and I don't know what that means.

arcpy.SearchCursor(outline)

Furthermore, I want to sum the areas in that Area field after they are calculated, so I need to be able to reference the field, right?  I looked at the arcpy.Statistics_analysis() function and I need to create a whole separate table to pull one value from the shapefile?  That's not required to view the summary statistics in the ArcGIS GUI (right click on field in attribute table-> Summary...).  Is there a less cluttered way to sum the entries in a shapefile field in Python?

I have downloaded the shapefile package but that doesn't seem to fit what I need either. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Make your list of fields using ListFields. If you're first learning cursors, you should skip to using the arcpy.da.SearchCursor. Both links contain examples at the bottom.

View solution in original post

19 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor