Using Drawing Tools in Python

03-03-2015 08:32 AM
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

I am trying to make a user friendly interface needing to capture an area of interest boundary to use in selecting layer records to be processed with Python.  I would like to imitate the interactive GUI capability of simply drawing a graphic rectangle on the map and use the "select by graphic" to select the layer records to process.  Is there a way to access these functions or is there a way to emulate this simple user interface in Python?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi David,

Take a look at the python add-in example here.  You will just need to update the code slightly to perform a 'Select by Location'.

0 Kudos
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

Jake,

Thank you for the information.

Is this only available with the Addin?  I am developing a Script tool specifically.  I am new to Python and have been working with ESRI Tech Support for assistance and was lead in the direction of developing a Script tool as being a bit less complicated to create.

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner

Yes, you can do this by using the following code:

import arcpy

graphic = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0)

arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management(graphic, "lyr")
arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management(arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1), "INTERSECT", "lyr")
arcpy.RefreshActiveView()

You will then want to add this script to a toolbox.  See the section 'Adding Script Tools' here.  After you add the script, right-click on the Script tool > Properties > Parameters tab.  You will want to set up two parameters:

screen1.png

For the first parameter, select a polygon feature class for the 'Schema' in the Parameter Properties.  The tool should then be ready to use.

0 Kudos
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

Hi Jake,

Thank you for providing information and education.