the longitude of the vertices of the said polylines.  So that

polylines whose vertices are between say 100 to 110 should be in

LayerA, and those between 111 to 120 should be in LayerB .. is this

possible to do in python?

Any help greatly appreciated

Gratefully,

Ric

P.S.

I am a bit new at this .. so far as starters, I have succeeded in extracting the latitudes and longitudes
using the technique  below but I am not sure if my approach is  the the right way or if there is a more
correct/proper way to do it.

import arcpy

strKPipeLayer = 'TestPipeLines'

strKPipeFullPathShape = r"F:\TestPipeLines.shp"

strK = r"F:\creatingMeridians.mxd"

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(strK)

for ly in arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd):

if (ly.name == strKPipeLayer):

rowData = arcpy.SearchCursor(strKPipeFullPathShape)

for rowDatum in rowData:

arcpy.Describe

poly = rowDatum.Shape

lst = list(poly)

ary = arcpy.Array(lst)

for ply in  ary:

countPoly = countPoly + 1

print "Polyline # " + str(countPoly)

print ' '

counter = 0

for pt in ary[0]:

xcoord = ary[0][counter].X

ycoord = ary[0][counter].Y

point = arcpy.Point(xcoord,ycoord)

ptGeometry = arcpy.PointGeometry(point)

print str(xcoord)  +  ','  + str(ycoord) + ',' + '0.0000'

counter = counter + 1

Message was edited by: Curtis Price (added code highlight in-place)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

1. Arcpy.mapping is for interacting with the map display, you can access the shapefile directly by path if you want.

2. What if a line crosses those boundaries?

3. Don't forget to delete your cursor when you are done with it:

del RowDatum, RowData

A more brute force approach that does not require editing geometry may be to use the Create Fishnet tool and then use overlay tools to select or clip your geometries. You could do this in ModelBuilder with no coding.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor