Intersecting Polygons

07-27-2014 12:31 PM
NicholasLaMar
New Contributor III

Hi - I'm relatively new to GeoEvent processor. I'm trying to figure out how to create a warning / notification when two polygons intersect each other? We have a series of project areas that we want to monitor against potential weather events. I've set up the weather event polygons as the GeoFence(s), and I'm using the incident detector processor to look for areas where the geometries intersect. Ideally we'd like to show a warning notification on screen (Operations Dashboard), and send a e-mail / text message to our field workers on site. When I run the GeoEvent Service nothing happens. We are using ArcServer 10.2.2. Any ideas or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Ryan

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MarkBramer
Occasional Contributor II

Hi Nicholas/Ryan(?),

At GeoEvent 10.2.x, poly-on-poly is not a supported geometry operator unless one of the polygons falls wholly within the other, which would trigger INSIDE or ENTER (if the previous poly was outside).  At 10.3, the list of spatial operators has been significantly expanded, and you will be able to do what you are describing.

Mark

0 Kudos
NicholasLaMar
New Contributor III

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the response. Sorry for the confusion I go by my middle name, Ryan. I'm glad we'll be able to have this functionality in 10.3, but unfortunately I need a solution now. If I converted one of the polygon features to a line feature would that work?

Ryan

0 Kudos
MarkBramer

I don't think so - not unless it wholly falls within a geofence polygon.  Can you make the polyline into points?  Or smaller polylines?  Trying to think of ways to get around the wholly inside necessity...

0 Kudos
ErickLobao
New Contributor III

Mark,

Can you provide a list of the additional spatial operators planned for the 10.3 release?