Basic question about ArcMap

07-17-2014 03:12 PM
JustinMedley
New Contributor

Hey guys,

I am very new to ESRI and the Arc suite of software. I am using ArcMAP, and simply trying to do the following task from a textbook:

View>Toolbars>Editor

Editor>Start Editing

On the Editor toolbar, set the Task drop-down menu to Select Features Using an Area

Go to the Selection tab at the bottom of the table of contents, and make sure that the Land Use layer is the only one selectable...

The 3rd step is the one giving me a problem. Do you guys think it is because of the different versions of ArcMAP being used by me and the textbook? Or is it something else...

0 Kudos
8 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Click the arrow looking button(edit tool) next to the editor drop down on the editor tool bar and you should be able to click and select by area.

What version of ArcGIS are you running and what book title and edition are you using?

0 Kudos
JustinMedley
New Contributor

I am using version 10.2.2.3552, and the book title is GIS Tutorial 2 (Spatial Analysis Workbook) and uses ArcGIS Desktop 9.3 / ArcGIS 9 / Arc View (I am not sure what the difference between the three is). I did what you said regarding the arrow button, but I am still unable to do what the workbook asks. Thanks for the help...

0 Kudos
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor