Utilize a Domain for a Query Layer in ArcGIS

Jump to solution
02-01-2016 10:01 AM
Labels (1)
BrianO_keefe
Occasional Contributor III

I'm using the ESRI "Web App Builder for Developer" and Robert Scheitlins "Enhanced Query" widget.

I'm trying to create a map that allows users (mostly police officers) to select a Crime Code (of which there are 210). This map is going to display all incidents (of which there are over 300k+ records), so when I attempt to choose the [Unique] option in the question it can take “minutes” to return the unique selection of options.

This particular widget allows users to choose [Predefined] instead and hand type each option in, but that is so massively time consuming I think it would be backfired as well. I was told by Mr. Scheitlin to add a Domain to that field but… I this layer is a Query Layer, not a straight Feature Class, and I am brand new to them. The GIS Coordinator said we needed to move over to Query Layers for a variety of internal operations reasons. Which puts me in this position.

I am unfamiliar with how to add a Domain to a field in a Query Layer. I’m not even sure it’s possible.

Being relatively new to the whole Query Layer I am at a loss.

One of the fields within the query layer references the table with all Crime codes, and I have an *.xls file with all crime codes in it ready to be added as a Domain should Query Layers be similar enough to Feature Classes to allow this. I just don’t know how to accomplish it.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Brain,