How would I change a symbol color after inspection (hydrant).

Jump to solution
02-09-2016 12:31 PM
TravisAnderson
Occasional Contributor

I'm a novice when it comes to ArcMap and Collector so hopefully one of you folks can help me out with this.  We are water utility in Ohio and are developing (rather slowly) a hydrant and valve inspection and maintenance program. We currently use Collector, iPad and an EOS Arrow 100 external receiver to gather field data and so far things have worked fairly well. I would now like to use Collector to facilitate in the hydrant and valve inspection. What I would like to do is create a way for the field staff to be able to change the color of a hydrant or valve once it has been inspected. If I would tap on the hydrant and see the attribute window display, is there a way to create a drop down arrow or something similar to change the color to indicate that it has been inspected? Visually, the field staff and office staff could quickly access what has or hasn't been inspected. Thanks for you help.

Travis

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TravisAnderson
Occasional Contributor

I figured this out on my own. There's probably a better way to do this, but this is what I do (using Desktop Basic). I wanted a layer on AGOL that contained a domain where I could change the color of the symbol to indicate an inspection. I had 5 colors, a Null (not visited), Good, Marginal, Needs Repaired, and Needs Replace 

1. After adding the domain to my hydrant layer, and using the "catagories with unique values" to show the colors, I created a layer package within Arc Desktop by right clicking on the layer name, and selecting "create layer package".

2. I drag and drop this layer package into a new blank map. This gets me around having to fix some errors in my original .mxd map. I should fix them, but time is always an issue for me.