Help in setting up geometric network

03-11-2016 06:31 PM
KathleenWallis
Occasional Contributor II

We are trying to build a geometric network for our water utilities. I took the ESRI instructor lead geometric network class
but don't know enough about water utilities and the function of the devices to know what the connectivity rules or network weights. Unfortunately my water department has limited knowledge of  GIS and has been of little help.
Is there anyone out there that is willing to share with me a feature dataset that has their water geometric network so I can look at what would be typical for the settings in the geometric network.

Katy 

0 Kudos
3 Replies
SteveMaskol
New Contributor III

Hi Katy,

I work for a municipality. While I did not create the geometric network for our water system I have some experience with networks.

There are eight feature classes that participate in our network.

Crosses

Hydrants

Mains

Nodes

Water Tanks

Tees

Valves

Junctions

All are simple junctions except for the mains. The mains have the role of complex edge.

We have a feature class of water meters. Currently the meters are not in the geometric network but will need to be added so we can take advantage of ESRI's Utility Isolation Trace App. I've been testing the Trace App with a file geodatabase of our water system where the meters are part of the geometric network. I'm not sure if it is a requirement for meters to be included in a network for all tracing tools. It is for the app. You may want to include meters in your geometric network if you plan on doing tracing.