Telecom Data Model - how to add or alter fiber cable counts

01-22-2013 06:55 AM
DaveAugspurger
New Contributor III
I'm trying to set up the Telecom Data Model and (I believe) I have everything set up correctly and am ready to start populating the database with our data.  This might be a dumb question but I simply can't figure out how to change the default values for fiber cable counts.  Usually, this is some sort of 'Domain' value but I can't locate it.  The default values appear when you start editing and select FiberCable from the Create Features...a table called Fiber Cable Configuration appears and list the default values.  How do I amend those values to include additional cable sizes?  Thanks for any help, I'm new to databases and am trying to find my way through this.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
DaveAugspurger
New Contributor III
To add to my post above, we have many cables that don't fit the standard cable/buffer/strand configuration that is included "out of the box" so to speak.  An example would be a 16 fiber cable that has 3 buffer tubes (1-4 blue, 5-10 orange, 11-16 green).
0 Kudos
DaveAugspurger
New Contributor III
I think I found where this is stored.  There is a "FiberConfigurations.XML" file in teh AddIn folder.  From what I can tell, there is no way to account for a fiber cable that has buffer tubes with different numbers of strands in each tube.  See below for the contents of the XML file and the last part of each line states "FibersPerTube="x" which implies that it would not be possible to have a cable like I mentioned above (16 fiber) that has 4 fibers in one tube and 6 each in the other two tubes.  Is there a way around this?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
- <Configurations>
  <FiberConfig DisplayName="2 Fiber Drop" DetailDesc="2 Fiber Drop by Esri" BufferCount="1" FibersPerTube="2" />
  <FiberConfig DisplayName="4 Fiber Drop" DetailDesc="4 Fiber Drop by Esri" BufferCount="1" FibersPerTube="4" />