As-Built/Record Drawing management

03-12-2024 08:29 AM
Labels (1)
dolson_farmington
New Contributor III

Hi all-

It has been 9 months since I started my role as the sole GIS staff for a small city. Prior to this role, I was a GIS analyst in environmental consulting. Many of the skills I learned there apply to my current role, but there are several new challenges I'm navigating as the sole GIS contact for the city. 

One of these challenges is linking the city's record drawings to our spatial data. I know many cities opt to contract this work out or use software outside of ESRI's. Other cities use things like the Plans and Drawings Solution. 

My question is: what does your local organization use, what are the pros and cons, and what is the cost associated? 

We have an Enterprise deployment, so I would like to get as much use out of it as possible and avoid spending additional money on external software for this effort, but am aware that most cities do opt to outsource this type of task. 

Any an all response is appreciated!

8 Replies
Bud
by
Notable Contributor

We have:

• A feature class that has a polygon for the extents of each project.
  • And a non-spatial table that is a list of files with a hyperlink field. The table is related to the polygons via a common PROJECT field. The relationship is 1:M. One polygon to many non-spatial table records.

It’s archaic and messy, but I suppose it works.

We considered using linear referencing instead, using a roads centreline feature class and a linear referencing table. But we figured it would be too fragile and too difficult to manage when a road needed to be split due to new roads being added to the network.

You could also try asking in one of these other communities:

@MErikReedAugusta might find this interesting.

0 Kudos
MErikReedAugusta
Occasional Contributor III

@Bud , I'm starting to think you're spying on my team, given that this is now twice you've nailed something we're semi-actively working on!  😛