Problems installing ArcGIS on macOS

Jump to solution
04-19-2024 01:44 AM
Labels (1)
Peter_
by
New Contributor

Hi,

I am new to ArcGIS and just want to share my experiences with the installation of the ArcGIS Maps SDK for Qt on macOS.

I could not find an older post that fits, however, if I missed one, I am sorry for a duplicate.

Specs

• macOS 14.3.1
  • Xcode 15.2
  • Qt commercial license 6.5.5
  • Qt Creator 13.0.0

I hope I did not miss anything.

I already had an installation of Qt which works with no problems.

The installation of the ArcGIS SDK version 200.4.0 (downloaded from the corresponding ArcGIS page) did not include the project templates into the existing installation of Qt. I also tried to run the post-installer script manually as sudo in terminal, but with no success. I did not get any error messages, too.

However, version 200.3.0 installed successfully and included the project templates as expected.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JamesBallard1
Esri Regular Contributor

@Peter_ , you are correct that our post installer changed at version 200.4.0. Starting with 200.4.0 it's now a script and will log to $TMPDIR/postInstall.log. The previous version was an application that was invoked by our setup and did not write a log to that location.

The script will not create the ${HOME}/.config/QtProject/qtcreator/templates/wizards if it doesn't already exist. We could consider adding that, but it's unclear what might happen if Qt Creator is installed after that point. It may overwrite this location and the templates could be lost.

Our script logic is that if ${HOME}/.config/QtProject/qtcreator/templates/wizards does not exist, we assume Qt Creator is not installed and we should not install templates. If this happens, we log the "Could not locate Qt Creator templates folder at..." message you saw above.