Select to view content in your preferred language

Zonal Histogram Bins

05-31-2013 10:19 AM
JonathanMartin1
Emerging Contributor
Hello all,

I am new to programming with arcpy, so this question may be basic.

I have a raster with positive and negative values.  I would like to create a histogram for the values inside a polygon.  I have used the Zonal Histogram tool in the spatial analyst tools (arcpy.sa), and I obtain an output table with 256 bins.  However, I do not know the ranges associated with the bins.   The bins are only given by OBJECTID numbering 1 to 256.  How do I determine the ranges of the bins using python?

I know that if I change the symbology of the raster to classified, I will get specified bin ranges given by the column "Label".  However, this seems to limit me to 32 bins.  Also, I would like to be able to do everything in python without having to change the symbology in arcmap.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
ShaunWalbridge
Esri Regular Contributor
For a given raster, you can determine the range of values by pulling out the properties from an arcpy.Raster object (code as a gist😞

import arcpy
arcpy.CheckOutExtension("spatial")
raster = arcpy.Raster("c:\\workspace\\input_raster")
range = raster.maximum - raster.minimum
bins = 256
bin_size = (range) / bins

# now we know the bin width, can multiply that by the OBJECTID for the lower bound of each bin
lower_bin_value = [bin_size * i for i in range(bins)]

You could add this to a table with a CalculateField operation, or otherwise embed this information back in the output table. The only trick I didn't cover here is that you'll need to clip your raster data to the polygon to get your 'input_raster' in this approach, since it doesn't know about the geometry restriction automatically.
0 Kudos
JonathanMartin1
Emerging Contributor
Thanks for the help sawlbridge.