Select to view content in your preferred language

What do the elements of ".listMaps" mean ?

01-11-2024 12:15 AM
Rema
by
New Contributor II

I'm new to Python. Could someone help me ?

The following text was taken from the ArcGIS Pro help page.
What do the contents of the () and [] in the second line of the code mean ?

This sample demonstrates how to reference a layer's label classes using ArcGIS Pro.

p = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject("CURRENT")
m = p.listMaps("Yosemite National Park")[0]
for lyr in m.listLayers():
    if lyr.supports("SHOWLABELS"):
       lblClasses = lyr.listLabelClasses()

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

list all maps that contain the name

"Yosemite National Park")

and since you may have more than one and a list of maps is returned, just return the first

[0]

(python is 0-based, so 0 is the index of the first element in a list)

... sort of retired...
EdM
by
New Contributor II

Hello Rema

The code basically returns a Map in your "Current" ArcGIS Pro (the ArcGIS Pro Project which you are working with) project called "Yosemite National Park".

The second line of code does the following:

- p is a variable which holds a reference to the ArcGIS Pro Project.

- listMaps() is a method on the current project object stored in p.

- listMaps() has a single argument which is a wildcard. This allows you to find all maps based upon a name. Normally the wildcard is followed by an *. In this case there is no asterisk which means you want to find those maps which are explicitly called "Yosemite National Park". 

- listMaps() returns a Python List object of ArcGIS Pro Map objects (the help for the method tells you this).

- Lists are made up of items and are zero-indexed, so the first item in the list is at index position 0. You access items in the list using the [] notation; as a 0 is in the [] brackets you are accessing the 1st Map in the list.