Update date field

Jump to solution
01-29-2018 03:00 PM
LauraBusolo2
New Contributor III

I'm pretty new to python and I have a table in a geodatabase that contains info on data sources, names, targets and a date field. I have a script that copies features based on a user's input, e.g. if ft_ID ==1. then copy features. I want to update the date field based on the affected/copied features row that the "copy features" was executed, and I don't know how to. (e/g. If I copy feature with ID as "1", update the corresponding date field for today/whatever day I copy that field). I just know I may need to use an update cursor.

I was playing around with the update cursor, but only got it to work to update current date for all features. This is how it looks like so far.

LYR_UPDATE_TABLE = r".\...gdb\Layer_Update"
#FIELD_NAMES = ['a', 'b', 'c',  'LastUpdate']
fld = 'LastUpdate'
btch_num = raw_input ("Please enter ID: ")

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor (LYR_UPDATE_TABLE, fld) as dt_cursor:
   for row in dt_cursor:
      # btch_id was defined earlier as the user's input to choose the features to cpy from the table
      if batch_id == int(btch_num):
      #Update the LastUpdate field with the date of the copy features-update
      """row [6] = (...)"""
      dt_cursor.updateRow([datetime.date.today()])
      print ('date Update Success!')
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You created the update cursor with a single field, i.e., fld.   In Line 16, you are trying to unpack a single item tuple into 7 different variables, hance the error that you need more than 1 value to unpack.  Instead of passing fld to the cursor, pass FIELD_NAMES.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Are you getting an error, is so, what?  Provide the whole traceback.

LauraBusolo2
New Contributor III

The error was:

ValueError: need more than 1 value to unpack

0 Kudos
RandyBurton
MVP Alum