Update Cursor Python Programming Issue

10-28-2017 02:35 PM
CourtneyWade
New Contributor II

Hi there. I'm a frustrated student taking a programming class where I am way over my head. I am taking this class with my first GIS class (bad idea) so my understanding is very limited. That being said, if you could give clear and simple explanations, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

This is the assignment question:

"For this assignment you will perform a batch update on the trees fc. While the arborists performed their tree inventory of the park, they mistakenly made some data collection errors. Each “Ash” tree that had a DBH greater than 25 should actually be an “Oak” species. Your task is to develop an update cursor/python code that performs this data fix."

This is a screenshot of my attribute table. 

This one of countless attempts:

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Your first line fails in my IDE using python 3.5

a = "C:\Temp\Unit_8_Assignment\Lake_Short_Park.gdb"

File "<ipython-input-7-23a9732c065c>", line 1
    a = "C:\Temp\Unit_8_Assignment\Lake_Short_Park.gdb"
       ^
SyntaxError: (unicode error) 'unicodeescape' codec can't decode bytes in position 7-8: truncated \UXXXXXXXX escape

a = r"C:\Temp\Unit_8_Assignment\Lake_Short_Park.gdb"  # ---- using raw formating

'C:\\Temp\\Unit_8_Assignment\\Lake_Short_Park.gdb'

I didn't get beyond there since I don't have the data to test.

It looks offhand that your row[0] and cursor.update.... row have 5 spaces and not 4... check 

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Try this:

fc = r'C:\Temp\Unit8_Assignment\Lake_Shore_Park.gdb\trees'
fields = ("DBH", "Common")
with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(fc, fields) as cursor:
    for row in cursor:
        if row[0] > 25 and row[1] == "Ash":
            row[1] = "Oak"
            cursor.updateRow(row)

Your line:

if (row [0] == >25):

is not valid for 2 reasons, and perhaps 3 reasons:

• the additional space after row