Scripting Feature Compare Tool for Multiple Layers

07-17-2014 01:07 PM
JenniferDick
New Contributor II

Hello,

I have hundreds of layers that I need to do a feature compare on to see if there are any differences between our 9.1 SDE layers and our recently created 10.1 layers from the same source.

I need to confirm that during the porting process from 9.1 to 10.1 that the layers were not changed / distorted, etc. Row counts are the same, etc.

Since I have so many layers I'm looking for a way to script a process that takes in many layers at at time and compares them to the new ones.

I'm not a programmer by nature, so any help would be great!

Thanks

Jennifer 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
ChristianWells
Esri Regular Contributor

This should be some that is doable for your work. One tool that will be helpful in scripting is the Feature Compare tool which will compare a number of variables. Using this tool we should be able to script this for all of your layers. This could also be done through ModelBuilder.

Feature Compare:

ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

This is a sample workflow logic that could be used to script this process:

import arcpy, os

#Create DB Connections to both databases
gdb91 = r"DB Connection"
gdb101 = r"DB Connection"

#Create a list to store the feature classes from both databases
list91 = []
list101 = []

#List the feature classes
arcpy.env.workspace=gdb91
fcList = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()
for fc in fcList:
     list91.append(fc)
arcpy.env.workspace=gdb101
fcList = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()
for fc in fcList:
     list101.append(fc)

#Compare the feature name and them compare the feature classes themselves
for fc91 in list91:
     try:
          idx = list101.index(fc91)
          fc101 = list101[idx]
          path91 = os.path.join(gdb91,fc91)
          path101 = os.path.join(gdb101,fc101)
          arcpy.FeatureCompare_management(path91, path101, out_compare_file=r"C:\CompareFile\{0}.txt".format(fc91))
     except: