Returning feature dataset name for a feature class

03-30-2014 10:40 AM
WesKing
New Contributor
Python noob here wondering if there's a direct way to return the name of a feature dataset for a feature class.

I know I can return the data source and extract the dataset name, but I figure there's got to be a way to directly return only the dataset name.

Along the same line, is there a way to check if a feature class belongs to a feature dataset?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Wes
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
benberman
Occasional Contributor
Python noob here wondering if there's a direct way to return the name of a feature dataset for a feature class.

I know I can return the data source and extract the dataset name, but I figure there's got to be a way to directly return only the dataset name.

Along the same line, is there a way to check if a feature class belongs to a feature dataset?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Wes

arcpy.env.workspace= "your workspace"
lstdataset = arcpy.ListDatasets()
for item in lstdataset:
     print item
     lstfeatureclass=arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()
     for fc in lstfeatureclass:
          print fc

you can plug in writers and other syntax to present it as a report. Hope this helps.
0 Kudos
WesKing
New Contributor
Thanks FLBB,
I looked into using list datasets/feature classes functions and they would work with some manipulation, which I know is normal.  I was just hoping there was something like a describe function that would return the exact feature dataset name (if it existed) for the feature class.

I appreciate your reply.

Wes
0 Kudos
benberman
Occasional Contributor
Thanks FLBB,
I looked into using list datasets/feature classes functions and they would work with some manipulation, which I know is normal.  I was just hoping there was something like a describe function that would return the exact feature dataset name (if it existed) for the feature class.

I appreciate your reply.

Wes