Python Toolbox Issues: using ArcPy Select by Location

Jump to solution
05-18-2022 02:42 PM
DPG
by
New Contributor II

Hi there. I am fairly new to Python and I am struggling to get my first Python Toolbox to work.

The purpose of the tool is to create a fishnet over a set area, before selecting cells within the fishnet that intersect a boundary shapefile. Cells that do not intersect the boundary are deleted. See this example below which uses the UK:

DPG_0-1652909592119.png

DPG_1-1652909838762.png

The boundary shapefile has been set up to be a selectable parameter inside the tool. My current script looks like this:

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

import arcpy

class Toolbox(object):
    def __init__(self):

self.label = "Toolbox"
        self.alias = "toolbox"

# List of tool classes associated with this toolbox
        self.tools = [Tool]

class Tool(object):
    def __init__(self):

self.label = "Tool"
        self.description = ""
        self.canRunInBackground = False

def getParameterInfo(self):

# Param 0 = UK Boundary
        param0 = arcpy.Parameter(
        displayName="Input Feature Class",
        name="Parameter0",
        datatype="GPFeatureLayer",
        parameterType="Required",
        direction="Input")
        param0.filter.list=["POLYGON"]

params = [param0]

return params

def isLicensed(self):

return True

def updateParameters(self, parameters):

return

def updateMessages(self, parameters):

return

def execute(self, parameters, messages):

# Overwrite existing file of the same name
        arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True

# Reference Parameters
        input1 = parameters[0].valueAsText

arcpy.management.CreateFishnet(
            "UKFishNet",
            "-13.6913900375366 49.8654174804687",
            "-13.6913900375366 59.8654174804687",
            1, 1, None, None,
            "1.76416802406319 61.527084350586",
            "NO_LABELS",
            "-13.6913900375366 49.8654174804687 1.76416802406319 61.527084350586",