Make Query Table works in Python Window but not as Tool???

06-25-2014 09:00 AM
LonnieBilyk
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm a newbie at coding, so I hope my question is clear.

The below code works perfectly when I run it in the Python Window of 10.1.

But when I make a tool and attach the script, it runs and indicates that the script completed successfully but yet the table is not added to the TOC. Why will it not automatically appear?

Any ideas? I've tried so many things to make the table appear, I can't even remember anymore.

Lonnie

import arcpy, datetime, arcgisscripting, os
from arcpy import env

# Local variables.
tableList = "Database Connections/Database.odc/FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_PROJECT;Database Connections/Database.odc/FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_SURVEY"

fieldList = "FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_PROJECT.INV_PROJ_ID 'INVENTORY_PROJECT_ID';FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_SURVEY.INV_SURVEY_ID 'INV_SURV_ID';FWS_WMIS.FWI_SURVEY_CREW_FNC(FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_SURVEY.INV_SURVEY_ID) 'SURVEY_CREW'"
whereClause = "FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_PROJECT.INV_PROJ_ID=FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_SURVEY.INV_PROJ_ID AND FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_PROJECT.INV_PROJ_ID=17909"
keyField = "FWS_WMIS.FWI_INVENTORY_PROJECT.INV_PROJ_ID"

#Get the current date and time.
now = datetime.datetime.now()

#Use the current time as the name for the layer to produce a unique name for every layer.
lyrName = now

# Make Query Table.
arcpy.MakeQueryTable_management(tableList, lyrName,"USE_KEY_FIELDS", keyField, fieldList, whereClause)
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
JasonScheirer
Occasional Contributor III
You'll need to make your table an output parameter of your tool. Only tables and layers that are specified as outputs will be added to the table of contents, the geoprocessing framework assumes any other layers and tables that aren't named are intermediate data.

So do this:

1. Add a parameter to your script tool: Output, Table View

2. At the end of your script, use arcpy.SetParameterAsText(0, lyrName) to pass the table along