I am getting an error "Cannot acquire a lock" when trying to calculate values in multiple fields.

04-19-2018 10:36 AM
BobNoyes
Occasional Contributor

So, I have created a script that adds 6 fields to a shapefile: Situs_city, Situs_St, Situs_Zip, Latitude, Longitude, and GIS_Acres. Further, the script is set to calculate the values for the Latitude, Longitude, and GIS_Acres fields. The script will work fine until after creating the GIS_acres field. Once this field is created the next step is to calculate and that is when I get an Error 999999: cannot acquire a lock. The weird aspect is once in a while the script will run all the way through just fine... anyway, I am stumped. I am pretty new to creating python scripts. If anyone has a suggestion that would be awesome.

import arcpy
import os

# Step 1  -  Copy new [Taxlots_TEST_DeleteME.shp] from \\cove\Department Shares\Common\Assessor\ArcGIS to E:\STAGING (IKRIT)
#set variables

in_data = "S:\Common\Assessor\ArcGIS\Taxlots_TEST_DeleteME.shp"
Shapefile = "E:\\STAGING\\Taxlots_TEST_DeleteME.shp"
#out_data = "E:\STAGING\Taxlots_TEST_DeleteME.shp"
arcpy.Copy_management(in_data, Shapefile)
print "Step 1 complete"

#Step 2: Add Situs fields
# Create a new field - Situs_City (string, 25)
arcpy.AddField_management(Shapefile, "Situs_City", "TEXT", "","","25","","NULLABLE","NON_REQUIRED","")
print "Step 2a: Add Situs_City complete."

# Create a new field - Situs_St (string, 2)
arcpy.AddField_management(Shapefile, "Situs_St", "TEXT", "#", "#", "2", "#", "NULLABLE", "NON_REQUIRED", "#")
print "Step 2b: Add Situs_St complete."

# Create a new field - Situs_Zip (string, 10)
arcpy.AddField_management(Shapefile, "Situs_Zip", "TEXT", "#", "#", "10", "#", "NULLABLE", "NON_REQUIRED", "#")
print "Step 2c: Add Situs_Zip complete."
print "Step 2: Create situs fields complete."

# Step 3: Create and calculate Latitude and Longitude fields.
latLonRef = "Coordinate Systems\Geographic Coordinate Systems\World\WGS 1984.prj"