Select to view content in your preferred language

How do I delete specific fields in multiple feature classes (not necessarily the same fields)?

05-08-2023 01:12 PM
bcarpenter87
New Contributor II

I was given this script to modify it to specify certain fields to delete within certain feature classes. How it is now, all fields I put in the list will be deleted in the specified geodatabase. What would I include in this script to further specify that certain fields within a feature class are deleted while certain other fields in another feature class are deleted, etc.? I am a very beginner programmer and intern and my boss gave me this to experiment with and work on, suggesting geonet/ESRI community as a good resource. I've included the script.

Thank you for any help,

Ben

0 Kudos
10 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor
import arcpy
from arcpy import env
env.workspace = r"Z:\ArcGIS\Projects\Other.gdb"
p = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject('current')
m = p.listMaps()[0]
fcList = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()
for fc in fcList:
	dropFields = ['add new filedname here', 'aandefirm','accountid','ACTIVEFLAG','andefirm','appended','As_BuiltDa','ASBUILTDATE','AsBuiltDwg']
	arcpy.DeleteField_management(fc, dropFields)
print (fc + ' Dropped standard fields!')

What is the exact logic of how you want it to drop specific fields for specific features?

0 Kudos
bcarpenter87
New Contributor II

I suppose I haven't put too much thought into it. Here is another text file of all of the feature classes on the left side with their particular fields to be deleted on the right side. I've located where all the feature classes are and am going to proceed to import them into the Other.gdb so that the Python script can operate on them in there for testing.

0 Kudos
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Ah OK, should be pretty simple.  Do you have the feature class/table names rather than their aliases?  Would make it simpler.

0 Kudos
bcarpenter87
New Contributor II

Let me see....

0 Kudos