Geoprocessing Script to Clip based on Two Attributes

08-04-2015 06:38 AM
JasonFultz
New Contributor III

Hi All,

I am looking for a method to do a clip based on two attributes.  In the attached shapefile, I have a "Year" field with years ranging from 0 to 27 and a "COLOR" field populated with either Red or Green.  I am looking for the best way to cycle through each year and clip the Red polygons from the Green polygons (discarding the area that intersects).  Is a python script or iterative model the best approach for this?  I am still a novice python user but very interested in learning more about it.  Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason

Attribute_Screenshot.JPG

0 Kudos
14 Replies
WesMiller
Regular Contributor III

The script below should get you started. Open a new arcmap and add your Topsoil layer open your arcmap python window right click behind the ">>>" and select load and load this script hit enter and watch it run.

import arcpy,os

arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True
fc ="Topsoil"
y = 28
out_path = "in_memory"
"""
#Create results featureclass

results = "results"
arcpy.CreateFeatureclass_management(out_path,results,"POLYGON",fc)
"""

for i in range(y):
    greenquery = '"COLOR" =' + "'Green'"
    redquery = '"COLOR" =' + "'Red'"
    value = str(i)
    if len(value) == 1:
        value = "0" + value
    value = "Y"+value
    yearquery = '"Year" ='+ "'%s'"%(value)
    Rquery = yearquery + "AND" + redquery
    Gquery = yearquery + "AND" + greenquery
    redLayer = "Red" + value
    greenLayer = "Green" + value
    #Create red layer
    arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management(fc,redLayer,Rquery)
    #Create green layer
    arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management(fc,greenLayer,Gquery)
    #print int(arcpy.GetCount_management(redLayer).getOutput(0))
    if int(arcpy.GetCount_management(redLayer).getOutput(0)) > 0:
        #do the clip
        #print value
        clip = "clip"+value