Field Calculator: Generate Random Numbers failure

02-25-2011 06:08 AM
RichardThurau
Occasional Contributor
Hello,
I'm new to python so hopefully the solution is simple.

I am trying to generate random integers between 1 and 1000 to populate the field "Rand2".
The "Rand2" field is Float.

####
Pre-Logic Script Code:

import arcpy

# Set the randomGenerator environment to 4 MERSENNE_TWISTER
arcpy.env.randomGenerator = "4 MERSENNE_TWISTER"

# Calculate a random number using the arcgis.rand() function
result = arcpy.CalculateValue_management("arcgis.rand('INTEGER 1, 1000')")

# Get the value from the result object from CalculateValue and print
randomValue = float(result.getOutput(0))
print randomValue

Expression:
Rand2=

randomValue[!Rand2!]
####

Field calculator runs for a while then delivers an "Error running expression" message (See image for full message).

Can anyone tell me how to clean this up?

Thanks

Rich
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
did you try the second as well?  is your field an integer field?  worked on my computer
0 Kudos
RichardThurau
Occasional Contributor
Dan,
Thanks so much for keeping it up.

Well, looks like my error is data specific. I don't know why yet, but that code will not run on the dataset I've been trying to generate random numbers for. However, it did run perfectly on another shapefile (that has far fewer features?).

It ran on a Long field (I had been trying both Long and Float).

At least now I know that numpy at least works on my machine.

There used to be a way to mark issues as solved on these forums, but I'm not seeing that option right now.

Thanks for your help!

Rich
0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
Just a check if it is that particular shapefile...

1  File|Data Export Data give it a new name and saving location
2  try the code on the "clone"

or if you have some bad records

3  select the first couple of records in the table and try running the code on the selection