Select to view content in your preferred language

export each polygone shape to jpeg on a loop with each worldfile using python or arcpy

07-31-2014 08:45 PM
MarkDunn
New Contributor

I'm new to Python and Arcpy mapping.  Has anyone built any code for exporting a layer of polygons one record at a time,  I want to select each record,  Zoom to selected and then export each view from the dataframe to jpeg with the worldfile.  I want to name the files with the name of the polygone that is stored in the field name.

This is the start of my code.  I'm stuck on selecting each record in a loop and then exporting to jpeg from the datafram not the layout view.  I need to store the worrld file with each export.

import arcpy

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")

df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd, "Layers")[0]

for row in arcpy.SearchCursor (r"C:\GIS\Grid.shp"):

df.extent = row.Shape.extent

df.scale = df.scale *1.07

arcpy.mapping.ExportToJPEG(mxd, r"C:\GIS\OutputPages\Grid_name.jpg", df,

df_export_width=1600,

df_export_height=1200,

world_file=True)

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MarkDunn
New Contributor

I actually found someone elses code that worked.  How to I change this to make the file name the name of each polygon.  It's stored in the attribute table.

import arcpy
from arcpy import env
from arcpy import mapping
env.workspace = "CURRENT"

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")
df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd, "Layers")[0]
for lyr in arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd):
    lyr.visible = True
    fc = r"C:\GIS\Grid.shp"
    count = str(arcpy.GetCount_management(fc))
    x = 0
    while x < int(count) + 1:
        rows = arcpy.SearchCursor(fc, "FID = " + str(x))
        arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(lyr, "NEW_SELECTION", "FID = " + str(x))

for row in rows:
            df.zoomToSelectedFeatures()
            df.extent = lyr.getSelectedExtent()
            arcpy.RefreshActiveView()