Execute "Make Query Table"  tool using python

02-04-2014 10:37 AM
AnanyaBaruah
New Contributor
I am trying to execute the Make Query Table tool using Python scripts following which I will incorporate other tools as well. I have set all the required parameters for the tool to run; the input feature class, input table, the field list and the expression, etc. However, I get a Runtime error that says "RuntimeError: Object: Error in executing tool".

I am attaching the script here for your reference. I will really appreciate if someone can offer me some advice as to where I am making a mistake or what am I missing and how I can get this to work. I am a beginner with Python and any suggestions will be really helpful for me to build upon.

Thank You!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Hi Ananya,

Tip 1:specify a workspace without trailing slashes:
replace:
inputPath = "F:\\GIS\\_Projects\\NPMRDS\\GDB\\NHS_npmrds_2013.gdb\\"

by:
inputPath = "F:\\GIS\\_Projects\\NPMRDS\\GDB\\NHS_npmrds_2013.gdb"

Tip 2: It is better to use os.path.join to join a location and a name:
Add this to the beginning of the script:
import os 

and change your code to:
inputTable = os.path.join(inputPath, speedTable)

(this should give the same result as you already had)

Do the same for inputFC, tmpQueryTable, QueryTableFeatureClass:
inputFC = os.path.join(inputPath, featureClass)
tmpQueryTable = os.path.join(inputPath, "QueryTable")
QueryTableFeatureClass = os.path.join(inputPath, "copyFeatures")

Tip 3: your fieldList contains objects and not the  fully qualified field names.
In order to get this right, the easiest way would be to execute the tool manually. See instructions here:
http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.2/index.html#//00170000006r000000