Select to view content in your preferred language

Dynamically add points to map

06-19-2012 08:31 PM
DanielNutsford
Emerging Contributor
Hi all,

I am trying to create a python script (or something of the sorts) that allows me to interactively add points to a .shp or FC by clicking on a map that is updated every X seconds. (This will be done from a helicopter where map updates are based on GPS location). I have been playing around with modelbuilder and feature sets which allows me to add the points interactively, however it stores all the points in the in__memory (I think) then adds them to a FC all at once. I want to be able to append a point to a FC as soon as it is added (i.e. as soon as I click on the map) as each point needs to have a unique timestamp.

I have some experience with python, and a little more with modelbuilder.

Any help would be awesome!

Cheers,
Dan
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
JimCousins
MVP Regular Contributor
How about incorporating an arcpy.CalculateField_management()?
You can acquire the current date/time with python module datetime:

import datetime
now = datetime.datetime.now()

Then you can supply this as the value to put into the field.
0 Kudos
DanielNutsford
Emerging Contributor
Thanks for your response Jim, that function will definitely come in handy. However I still have the problem of not being able to use it to calculate the date/time of each point individually as it is added to the map. If I was to put it in now it would say all points were added at the exact same time.

Below is the code I have exported straight from modelbuilder.

# Import arcpy module
import arcpy

# Set Geoprocessing environments
arcpy.env.scratchWorkspace = "D:\\dnutsford\\Thar_project"
arcpy.env.workspace = "G:\\Temp\\Daniel"

# Script arguments
points = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0)
if points == '#' or not points:
    points = "in_memory\\{CC1D7814-D71D-4E29-8FB1-3CC188292BF4}" # provide a default value if unspecified

output_map = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1)