Data in CSV file overwritten

Jump to solution
02-05-2015 11:11 AM
LauraBlackburn
New Contributor III

I am exporting my data from multiple Network Anayst VRPs to a CSV file.  I am able to get the data exported to the csv file, but it keeps putting all the data in one row and overwriting it.  I need to be able to advance down to the next row, but I am new to python and not sure how to do this.  any help is greatly appreciated.  Here's the code that writes to the CSV file.

# create table - fields: From script [Block (shortBlockName), Scale (scale)], From Routes layer [stops (OrderCount), dTime (TotalTravelTime), dDistance (TotalDistance)]
        CSVFile = 'F:\\Workspace\\Sandy\\GM_costAnalysis\\analysis2\\allRoutes.csv'
        f = open (CSVFile, "wb")
        w = csv.writer(f)
        fieldNames = ['OrderCount', 'TotalTravelTime', 'TotalDistance', 'Block', 'Scale']
        w.writerow(fieldNames)
        recordList = []
        # print "Data type: " + desc.dataElement.dataType # dataType = layer

# examine children and print their name and datatype - no children
        lyrFile = arcpy.mapping.Layer(outLayerFile)
        for lyr in arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(lyrFile):
            if lyr.name == "Routes":
                #print "Routes location: " + lyr.datasetName # returns 'Routes'
                #print "Routes long Name: " + lyr.longName   # returns 'TrapRoute_IA1_1K\Routes'
                desc = arcpy.Describe(lyr)
                # indexFields = 0
                # for field in desc.fields:
                #    print "%-22s %s %s" % (field.name, ":", field.type) # this returns all of the fields in the routes table
                cntCursor = arcpy.da.SearchCursor(lyr, "OrderCount")
                for row in cntCursor:
                    cnt = row[0]
                    recordList.append(str(cnt))
                    print ("OrderCount: {}".format(cnt))
                timeCursor = arcpy.da.SearchCursor(lyr, "TotalTravelTime")