Create a Help file for a new geoprocessing tool

Jump to solution
03-29-2012 06:37 AM
ehallisey
New Contributor II

I'm trying to create a simple Help file in ArcGIS 10 for a new geoprocessing tool created by a developer with whom I work. Here's all I can find from Esri on this:

There are many sources of information on creating and compiling HTML help or .chm files. A good starting point is the "Microsoft HTML Help 1.4 SDK" topic available from the Microsoft library (http://msdn.microsoft.com). In the library, you'll also find information on creating and compiling .chm files listed under Visual Tools and Languages, HTML Help.?

I'm not a developer and I don't relish the idea of having to download, install, and learn how to use another software package just to create a few help pages. Also, I can't find a "Microsoft HTML Help 1.4 SDK" topic from the link Esri provides and the most recent version of HTML Help, downloadable from Microsoft, seems to be from 2003.

Does anyone know of a workaround? Has anyone worked with HTML Help? Any quick start tutorials? Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Elaine

Message was edited by: Curtis Price (reformatting to Geonet)

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
Is this a custom tool (.NET) or a script tool?

If it's a script tool, documentation is added by right clicking the tool, selecting Item Description and editing the metadata.