arcpy.da.InsertCursor running slow compared to append

Jump to solution
05-01-2015 01:12 PM
MichaelBarker
New Contributor II

I have a sql server spatial table of around 9M points which for backup purposes I'm scripting to create a copy in SDE.  I was initially truncating the SDE table and using append to re-populate which took around 3 hours.  To improve performance I read about using the da.Insert and search cursors and having implemented that do have it working, but it took around 8 hours.  I'm fairly new to using these cursors, so I maybe don't have this configured correctly, so any advise would be appreciated.  Sample of the code is below.

sql_tb = "INPUT_SQL_TB"
    sde_fc = "OUTPUT_SDE_FC"
    with arcpy.da.InsertCursor(sde_fc,['FIELD1','FIELD2','SHAPE@XY']) as icur:
        with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(sql_tb,['FIELD1','FIELD2','SHAPE@XY']) as scur:
            for srow in scur:
                icur.insertRow(srow)
    del icur,scur

Thanks in advance for any feedback, Mike.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Performance wise, I wouldn't be surprised if Append and Copy Rows were comparable, but there is the functional difference where Append requires an existing table/dataset/etc... while Copy Rows has to create a new one.  Since the OP's original workflow includes truncating a table instead of deleting it, there may be a requirement that prevents the use of Copy Rows.