Add Values to Table using UpdateCursor()

Jump to solution
11-01-2023 11:02 AM
AnjeliDubey
New Contributor II

Hi, I am fairly new to ArcPro and this is my first time using UpdateCursor() and I was wondering how I can have each row in a field to have a value from a list in the order it appears in the list? For example, if I have a list:

["1","5","3"]

How can I make it so 1 is the value for the first row in the field, 5 is the value for the second row, and 3 is the value for the third row? Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor

A basic solution using updateCursor would be like this:

lookup_values = ["1","5","3"]

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(my_fc_path, ["FirstField", "Another_Field_ifyouwant"]) as update_cursor:
    for enum, row in enumerate(update_cursor):
        row[0] = lookup_values[enum]
        update_cursor.updateRow(row)

However, I would recommend not relying on the implicit order of everything like this. You're not guaranteed to go through the rows of data in any predictable order unless you specify a sql_clause parameter and use order by, but that's only supported when working with databases. This will also error if there are more rows in the cursor than you have lookup values in the list.

Rather, you should be matching by a key value. You would create a Python dictionary of your lookup values by some primary key id, then for each row in your update cursor, look up the key and get the value to change for that particular row.

Turbo Charging Data Manipulation with Python Curso... - Esri Community

Can you give some more context to your question so we can give you a more precise answer?

View solution in original post

6 Replies
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor

A basic solution using updateCursor would be like this:

lookup_values = ["1","5","3"]

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(my_fc_path, ["FirstField", "Another_Field_ifyouwant"]) as update_cursor: