Trouble publishing service from ArcGIS Pro

Jump to solution
04-05-2023 08:14 AM
ToddFagin
Occasional Contributor II

I am wanting to publish a map service to  ArcGIS Server. This should be straightforward and easy, but I am encountering some issues. I am assuming the answer is as simple as "well, now that this is a federated server, this is no longer an option, too bad for you."

In ArcGIS Pro, I have established a connection to the server, but when I write-click on it in Catalog, Publish is not an option.

According to this article, “[t]he Publish command is only available on ArcGIS Server connections to stand-alone servers with privileges to publish services.”

This shouldn't be a problem because I am an administrator.

Further, the article states, "[i]f the Publish command doesn't appear on the server context menu, click Properties. On the ArcGIS Server Connection Properties dialog box, make sure Type is set to Publisher Connection or Administrator Connection. You must have permission to publish services; if necessary, provide an appropriate username and password."

However, if I write click, I am unable to make this change:

ToddFagin_0-1680706837689.png

Interestingly, though, I have an old ArcGIS Pro project in which I have a server connection that has the Publish option. However, when I right click and select Publish, I get the following:

ToddFagin_1-1680706894637.png

I decided to check my status in Server--as noted, I should be an admin. In server, I receive the following:

ToddFagin_2-1680706976328.png

So, I log into the portal, and sure enough, I am an Administrator:

ToddFagin_3-1680707075915.png

Of course, I can publish to the Portal, but when it does this, it puts the service in the Root of the server rather than in the nice, tidy folders I long-ago created (and moving them seems to be a big hassle). Also, it will not let me override an old service that was created before federation, I have to completely recreate it.