Model builder: I need to run a tool without creating unecessary clipped outputs

02-23-2016 03:35 PM
RuthLowry1
New Contributor

I'm completely new to model builder, but as I've about 90 rasters to run through several different processes I figured I'd construct a simple clip tool which then applies a function to the clipped data to convert it from Kelvin to Celcius values. My model looks as follows:

clip-convert model.PNG

The tool did not successfully run in ArcMap (it would fail while running the clip) until I had altered the model for a couple of hours. The tool now works more or less as desired; it clips the original data, and generates a second output with the new values. However, the tool would only work when I made the first output ("clipped raster") a paramater. Therefore the tool is not ideal as 1. having to choose an output location for the clip each time is less efficient and 2. as the clip itself is not needed superfluous data will be generated. I am not sure I completely understand how scratch data or scratch workspaces work, but is there any way that I would be able to set the "clipped raster" output as intermediate data and still have a functioning tool?

Other notes: on a previous attempt at constructing the model, I got the clip to run successfully, but it was always the raster calculator operation that failed; an error 000539 was always returned. Any idea on why this might be so? The function I entered into the raster calculator was ("%Clipped raster%" * 0.02) -273, 0.02 being a scaling factor and of course the 273 to convert from Kelvin to Celsius. However, I do not believe that syntax was the issue as I ran the function in the raster calculator in the system toolbox and there were no issues.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus