Ponciano from Timor-Leste [Introduction]

03-11-2024 01:32 AM
Ponsyano
New Contributor II

Hello ESRI Community,

Thank you for allowing me to join this community. I am Ponciano da Costa de Jesus, commonly known as Ponsy, from Timor-Leste, a small nation located in South East Asia, between Indonesia and Australia.
I recently completed my studies at the National University of Timor Lorosa'e, specializing in Geology and Petroleum Engineering. Currently, I work as a coordinator for the Geographic Information System Association, a non-governmental organization established in Timor-Leste since 2021.
I have dedicated a significant amount of my time to GIS technology and have been developing GIS for academic purposes in my home country since 2020. However, it has been challenging as our association continues to use ArcGIS with the ArcMap product. 
I am excited to be part of this community and hope to receive valuable responses. My aim is to contribute to the further enhancement of the ArcGIS platform in Timor-Leste.
I am content to be a part of this community, and I look forward to receiving any feedback or engaging in discussions regarding the development of ArcGIS in our nation.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
JesseCloutier
Esri Community Manager

Welcome, Ponsy!

Consider Esri Community to be your go-to spot for discussing all things GIS — a virtual gathering place where you can find solutions, share ideas, and collaborate to solve problems with the help of members from all around the globe.

Please be sure to check out the following Community-use resources to get you started: 

And, noting that your organization is using ArcMap, you'll want to bookmark our ArcMap Place. If/when the time comes to migrate to ArcGIS Pro, know that we a Place for that as well (here) where you can learn from others who've done the same, ask questions, or even get insights from Esri team members share resources in that space.