findAndReplaceWorkspacePaths crashes when mxd contains image layers

02-12-2011 03:47 AM
DonMcClimans
New Contributor
I am moving a large number of mxd files, and need to update the data sources for various layer files. I have written a script that uses findAndReplaceWorkspacePaths. The script works fine as long as the mxd does not contain an image service layer. If it does contain such a layer, the script crashes. I am not trying to change the path in the image layer, but other layers in that mxd file.

This looks like bug NIM060315 http://resources.arcgis.com/content/nimbus-bug?bugID=TklNMDYwMzE1, except I am not trying to change the image layer itself.

The bug report lists no workarounds. Is there anything I can do? Doing these by hand will be a big undertaking (and error prone).

Thanks
0 Kudos
17 Replies
deleted-user-9ppwtkjpkhrH
New Contributor II
I'm at SP 2.  The following Python script was a successfull work around.  Note, I'm not experienced in arcpy so judge accordingly (although, hey, it does work!):

import os, sys, arcpy
import arcpy.mapping as MAP

mxdPath = sys.argv[1]
oldDataSource = r'P:\cby\gisprojects\umpqua\Phase_II'
newDataSource = r'P:\cby\gisprojects\umpqua\Soup_Cr_VRH'

arcpy.overwriteoutput = 1
mxd = MAP.MapDocument(mxdPath)

for lyr in MAP.ListLayers(mxd):
    if lyr.supports("DATASOURCE"):  # note, this caught some of the image service layers but let one slip through
        if lyr.supports("SERVICEPROPERTIES"):
            if lyr.serviceProperties['ServiceType'] == "ImageServer":  # note, this caught the image service layer that slipped through the first "if" statement
                pass
            else:
                lyr.findAndReplaceWorkspacePath(oldDataSource, newDataSource, False)
        else:
            lyr.findAndReplaceWorkspacePath(oldDataSource, newDataSource, False)
mxd.save()

del mxdPath
del oldDataSource
del newDataSource
del mxd
0 Kudos
JeffBarrette
Esri Regular Contributor