Select to view content in your preferred language

Find and replace text for all map documents within a folder (mxd)

Jump to solution
02-21-2012 11:28 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: mthorpe

Hello.

I'm looking to use a Python script to update the text on multiple mxds without opening each one up. Basically a find and replace function, looped through all MXDs in a directory. I have no real Python experience, so perhaps this has a simple answer. This is the code I have right now.

import arcpy, glob, os

path = r"C:\\"
mxdList = glob.glob(path + "\*.mxd")

for mxd in mxdList:
for elm in arcpy.mapping.ListLayoutElements(mxd, "TEXT_ELEMENT"):
  if elm.text == "works":
   elm.text = "replaceword"
mxd.save()
del mxd

The error I am receiving now is "Runtime error <type 'exceptions.AttributeError'>: 'str' object has no attribute '_arc_object'"
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Ok, instead of using trying to edit the aforementioned code to get it to work ... I used this instead:

import arcpy import os import glob  folder = r"\\sample\sample"  oldtext = "Township" newtext = "Borough"  mxds = glob.glob(folder + '\\' + '*.mxd') arcpy.gp.overwriteOutput = True for mxdFile in mxds:     mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(mxdFile)     for elm in arcpy.mapping.ListLayoutElements(mxd, "TEXT_ELEMENT"):         if elm.text == oldtext:             elm.text = newtext     mxd.save() del mxd     

Did exactly what I wanted it to do. 🙂

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: jscheirer

for mxdFile in mxdList:
    mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(mxdFile)
    for elm in arcpy.mapping.ListLayoutElements(mxd, "TEXT_ELEMENT"):
        if elm.text == "works":
            elm.text = "replaceword"
        mxd.save()
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Bumping this thread because I can get this script to work ... but not perfectly.   😄