Automating a Find and Zoom Process

07-01-2014 07:20 AM
ib
by
New Contributor II
Hi all,
I am a total newbie to programming anything into Arc with little to no programming experience but I'm finding the need to be able to automate certain processes so now's as good of time as any to start learning.  The problem is, I need to get this process going ASAP, of course...

What I'm trying to do seems fairly simple:

I have a bunch of points with unique ID's and I need to be able to export the area around these points from my base map to JPG's at multiple zoom levels.

My process might look like this:
1. Enter the unique ID into a field
2. The program/script would zoom to the point with this ID and export a JPG at two or three different scales.

Can I do this in model builder or will I need to write a Python script? 
Thanks!
0 Kudos
21 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Its crashing prior to the Select by Attribute, when its making the layer object.

I changed the Layer Name Parameter to a Layer type, and it still ran, so if you want to do it that way it should work.  I made it as a string originally so it could be run in ArcCatalog(which seems to speed up geoprocessing opposed to ArcMap, if you knew python better, you would just be able to change the varialbes and it could run outside of Arc entirely, which would make it even faster, but oh well.)

Btw, this script is made to work only if your Layer has a field called ID, not FID or OID or anything different from that, and it should be able to handle all characters for the ID value, just make it what it shows in the attribute table.  Also the layer must already be in a saved mxd file if that wasn't clear before.  Also remember python is case sensitive so if the Layer Name is Arctest_01, it will crash for ArcTest_01.  For the ID number just enter as it shows in the attribute table, no other characters.