Select to view content in your preferred language

How to construct Geodesic Great Circle ?

Jump to solution
02-13-2013 06:20 AM
JeremieJoalland1
Occasional Contributor II
I was able to construct Geodetic Great Circle polyline in a previous application developed with ArcGIS Engine Dev. Kit 10.0 for DotNet (and C#), using IConstructGeodetic:ConstructGeodeticLineFromDistance.

I'm now working with ArcGIS Runtime 10.1.1 for Java (Windows) and I'm new at it...
I would like to do the exact same thing, but as there's no ArcObjects SDK, how can I do it ?
is there any way to do it through ArcPy ? programmatically ?

Here's my sample code from ArcGIS Engine, it draw 2000 geodetic polylines :
this.myGraphicTracker.SuspendUpdate = true;  // Add 2000 geometries (geodesic great circle) to a Graphic Tracker IPolyline polyligneGeodesic; IGeometry geometry; IPoint pointOrigin; double coordX = 99166; double coordY = 538333; double polylineDistanceKm = 400; double azimut = 1;  // Point of origin pointOrigin = new PointClass(); pointOrigin.PutCoords(coordX, coordY);  for (int i = 0; i < 2000; i++) {     azimut = azimut + 1.1;      // Construct the Polyline     polyligneGeodesic = CartoEngine.ConstructGeodeticGreatCircleLine(pointOrigin, azimut, polylineDistanceKm);     geometry = polyligneGeodesic as IGeometry;      CartoEngine.ProjeterWGS84VersRefSpatialeCarte(geometry, this.axMapControl.Map.SpatialReference);      // Add the Geometry to the Graphic Tracker     this.myGraphicTracker.Add(geometry, this.myLineSymbol);      // Preserve references to COM objects IGeometry     this.listOfMyGeometries.Add(geometry); }  this.myGraphicTracker.SuspendUpdate = false;

where the method which use IConstructGeodetic:ConstructGeodeticLineFromDistance is :