What happens when a deleting a field from a raster dataset?

03-03-2018 05:49 PM
JulieWynia
New Contributor

I am relatively new to GIS and attempted to delete a field from a raster dataset (land cover) in a map package; the result of a serious error message tells me this is not a good thing to do.

I deleted the map package and re-downloaded the map package from the original source; however, the "Open Attribute Table" option for this raster persists in being gray so I cannot open the attribute table to view it.

I don't think I would have affected the original so I am not sure why this problem exists after re-downloading the original map package. Does anyone know what I can do to troubleshoot this issue?

The map package represents demo materials for an online GIS course I am taking. The map includes a relatively small area of a DEM overlaying a "nlcd_2011_land_cover_extracted" raster which had 15 values.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

The exact error message would be useful, I suspect your interpretation of 'not a good thing' might need some elaboration.

Also, why do you need to delete the field in the first place? If you didn't make the map package, then there should be no need to remove anything.

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

In addition to what Dan Patterson  mentioned, if you would want to delete a Value field of a raster you would actually delete the raster values (which is really not something you would want and that's why it should not be possible). When a raster has no value attribute table, this is normally due to the raster type. If it has decimal (floating) values, the raster will not have an attribute table. It is very likely that the DEM is such a raster.

Dan's question on why you want to delete the field is spot on. If you can clarify that or if you can clarify what you want to achieve, we might be able to provide ways to accomplish it.

JulieWynia
New Contributor

Thank you to both Dan and Xander for your replies.