Help w/ pyramids

08-07-2015 08:56 AM
AlexBullen1
Occasional Contributor II

I have a mosaic raster aerial image that is about 300 mb and covers about 6 square miles. I'd like to better set up pyramids to make loading time & scrolling time faster.

I've accepted the default pyramids, but the image loads about 5x slower than the basemap does even though the image is on my local machine.

What pyramid settings should I be looking into to decrease this processing time?

Thanks, I'm new to adjusting pyramid settings.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
ModyBuchbinder
Esri Regular Contributor

There is very limited setting you can do with the pyramids.

Most of the setting will change the time to build the pyramids but not to use them.

What is the format of the basic raster?

Sometime the pyramids is built in a different format and that is why they are slower.

GordonSumerling
Esri Contributor

Alex,

Firstly the Basemaps is a cache and it will load faster as it only loads the piece of image it requires at the resolution it requires.

Secondly, if your image is a large single image with pyramids then it will be slower to load as it has to load the entire image before it displays. If it is a large JP2 or MRSID then this would be slower than a Tiff.

I would recommend that you create a mosaic dataset in a file geodatabase and then add your image to the mosaic dataset. Creating overviews will apply a secondary pyramid over the image and improve performance. It will not be close to the cache speed but will be better than the single image by itself.

Cheers

Gordon

AlexBullen1

Thanks. I followed your instructions and it is faster than before. Still pretty slow overall - when I'm zoomed in to view individual neighborhood streets, and I move the image, it takes about 20 seconds to load each time - but it is better.

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

One more thing you can do to improve performance is to 'Accelerate' the mosaic dataset: