Select to view content in your preferred language

I am NOT a Surveyor

05-22-2024 12:03 PM
ODWC_GIS
Occasional Contributor

A couple days ago, a ruling was made by the 4th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in North Carolina that seems to endanger the field of GIS Professionals.

This article from abc11 news was forwarded through my state's GIS Email chain, as a topic/situation we'll have to confront eventually: NC drone pilot can't offer mapping without surveyor's license, court says 

I found the published Opinion of the court, and am attaching it to this post ("No 23-1472 Opinion May 20, 2024 .pdf").

The Opinion seems to indicate that any work utilizing remotely-sensed data and any derivative measurements falls within the purview of licensed surveyors -at least in North Carolina.

I'm not a lawyer.  Nor am I a Surveyor.  But I do consider myself to be a professional Geospatial Analyst!

I thought it might be a good idea to let everyone here know about this issue.  

Also, ESRI sales in NC might suddenly drop.

Wayback Link to abc11 news article: https://web.archive.org/web/20240000000000*/https://abc11.com/post/michael-jones-nc-drone-pilot-offe... 

[Edit: Posted by D. Murray]

2 Replies
ODWC_GIS
Occasional Contributor

Good News for Oklahoman GIS Folks!

The current State Geographic Information Coordinator for Oklahoma just sent a reply to the worrywarts (read: me) in the OK GIS Email Chain: 

The Council and the Oklahoma State Board for Licensure of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors addressed this issue nearly 20 years ago.