work for free ?

09-14-2015 07:27 AM
mohamedmagdy1
New Contributor II

actually I'm trying to improve my skills on GIS and know new things, i have some experience on digitizing and map layout so I want to use it on any work and learn new stuff. So I'm looking for someone to work with him for free and learn new things.

thank u .

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
JonathanBailey
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Mohamed,

In my opinion, you shouldn't work for free. Ever. Unless it's for your Mom.

Why not?

1. If you work for free, your work won't be valued.
  2. If you work for free, people will continue to expect you to work for free.
  3. If you're providing something of value to a business, you should be paid for it.

If you're looking for experience, you could do some work on your own time on a project that interests you, and make the work available as a portfolio that you can share with others. If your goal is to eventually get paid work in this field, then being able to demonstrate that you have skills that an employer values will get you there -- not unpaid work.

Jon.

JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Thanks Jon; you beat me to it.  I'll add one more thing:  when people do GIS work for free, the value of ALL of us is somewhat diminished....

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
JonathanBailey

Hi Joe,

That's probably true; it may have an impact on the overall market for GIS expertise. However, I don't begrudge anyone who would willingly offer their services for free; it's their choice, after all. I just don't advise it, for the reasons that I mentioned.

Jon.

0 Kudos
ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

I would tend to agree. I knew a grad student back in college who took an unpaid internship with the USGS for almost a year, 10-15 hours a week. Demand for these "opportunities" was quite high - in fact, she was lucky to have landed the position, as the story goes.